This retrospective companion to ABI/INFORM provides cover-to-cover, full-images complete with illustrations and advertisements for publications from 1905 to 1985. The database contains complete runs of key business and management journals, providing a unique historical perspective on hundreds of topics, including corporate strategies, management techniques, marketing, product development, and industry conditions worldwide.
Search a complete database comprising full-text business periodicals and news sources from ABI/INFORM Global, Dateline, and Trade & Industry, as well as the Wall Street Journal, for the period from 1971 to the present.
Covers a broad spectrum of significant, current anthropological topics from several hundred periodicals. Human speech, physiology, artifacts, history, environment, and social relations are described, analyzed, interpreted, and compared within the human and animal realms.
Academic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from many leading journals and reference sources, with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
Academic Search Elite, an EBSCO database, is a general academic index that indexes almost 3,000 magazines and journals from every academic discipline and provides the full-text of more than 1,200.
Full text of every article ever published by ACM.
Search the journals of the American Chemical Society.
Area Education Agency 267 serves over 66,800 students in 60 public school districts and 25 non-public school districts and over 5,000 educators with services in special education, school technology, media and instructional/curriculum support.
Includes journal articles, book chapters, short reports, and reprints.
America: History & Life is an index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes 1,700 journals from 1964 to present and also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
Since 1932, Annual Reviews has offered comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 29 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences.
PROLA is The American Physical Society's Physical Review Online Archive. PROLA is the concrete expression of APS's commitment to ensuring the immediate and long-term accessibility all journal content that APS publishes.
Art Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Indexing coverage begins 1984; abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. The abstracts range from 50 to 300 words and describe the content and scope of the source articles. Full-text coverage begins in 1997.
ARTstor is a digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
arXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics. The contents of arXiv conform to Cornell University academic standards. arXiv is owned, operated and funded by Cornell University, a private not-for-profit educational institution. arXiv is also partially funded by the National Science Foundation.
ASEE Conference Proceedings Search provides full text access to over 10,000 papers presented at American Society for Engineering Educaton annual conferences. Coverage begins in 1996.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials is the full text version of the ATLA Religion Database (ATLA). This database is a collection of major religion and theology journals selected by some of the major religion scholars in the United States. Coverage of this database dates back to 1949.
Online biographical reference database in the fields of literature, science, business, entertainment, politics, sports, history, current events and the arts.Biographical information on over one million people throughout history, around the world.
Biological Abstracts is a comprehensive database that directs you to information covered in life sciences journals.
Since the Encyclopædia Britannica's founding in 1768, Britannica editors have gathered and organized information on thousands of topics for easy retrieval.
Indexes company information.
Major studies, short reports, and periodical articles on a variety of business topics
Business Source Elite provides full text for nearly 1,060 journals covering business, management, economics, finance, banking, accounting, and much more.
Cambridge Journals Online is the online content delivery service for Cambridge University Press’s collection of leading journals across the sciences, social sciences and humanities.
For collection development, readers’ advisory, and curriculum support. Children's Core Collection covers fiction and nonfiction works, story collections, picture books, graphic novels, and magazines recommended for readers in preschool through sixth grade. Professional literature for the children's librarian, both periodicals and books, is also covered. Entries provide complete bibliographic data, price, subject headings, a descriptive annotation, and evaluative quotations from a review when available. The catalog also includes an annotated list of recommended web resources for children and professionals working with children.
Provides access to children's books, video and audio recordings, film strips, including selected reviews.
Contact Reference Desk for password. Subject index to more than 65 magazines for elementary and middle school students and carefully selected Web sites.
Provides reviews, ratings, and order information for over 5,000 currently available interactive children's media titles (CD-ROMs, videogames, children's Internet sites, and smart toys - toys with interactive electronic capabilities).
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is a comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. CIAO is also a source for teaching materials including original case studies written by leading international affairs experts, course packs of background readings for history and political science classes, and special features like the analysis of a bin Laden recruitment tape with video.
Gain access to informative health literature with CINAHL, the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, this database covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines, and contains: Indexing for over 1,200 nursing journals and publications dating back to 1982. Over 250,000 records. Abstracts for over 250 journals, including over 450 author-supplied abstracts. Indexing for journals, books and book chapters, dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, pamphlets, educational software packages and audiovisual material. Internal subject thesaurus with over 7,000 terms—2,000 unique to CINAHL.
ComDisDome is an indexing and abstracting tool covering the communications disorders literature, with focus on speech-language pathology and audiology. In one location, the database will quickly identify and connect you to reliable information from multiple sources in your field, including journal articles and books, along with access to profiles of researchers working in this area.
CMMC incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth in the communication and mass media fields.
Computer Science Index (formerly Computer Literature Index) offers abstracting and indexing of academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources at the highest scholarly and technical levels of computer science. The collection covers more than 670 periodicals and books, with coverage going back to the mid 1960s.
This database contains full text articles from nearly 1,200 quality magazines and journals. The database includes full-text sources ranging from general publications such as Fortune and Money to trade publications such as American Demographics, Chemical Week, Electronic Business and Restaurant Hospitality. The collection of titles also includes top management journals such as Academy of Management Executive, California Management Review and Harvard Business Review. Many full-text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. In addition, this database also includes 10,000 extensive company profiles.
Modeled after CQ Researcher, CQ Global Researcher provides students with in-depth coverage of global affairs from a number of international viewpoints. Available exclusively online, CQ Global Researcher offers focused, readable, single-topic reports on vital world issues. Written by journalists with years of international experience, these reports make use of such popular sections as "current situation," "pro-con," and a new feature called "voices from abroad." By exposing students to a wide range of viewpoints CQ Global Researcher provides a comprehensive snapshot of today's most pressing issues.
The CQ Researcher is a collection of reports covering political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.
Search a comprehensive collection of U.S. and international criminal justice journals including information for professionals in law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security.
Criminal Justice Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering areas related to criminal justice and criminology. The increasing globalization of criminology is reflected in Criminal Justice Abstracts' coverage of hundreds of journals from around the world. Criminal Justice Abstracts contains more than 200,000 records selected from the most important sources within the discipline. Subject areas covered include: criminology; criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections and prisons; police and policing; criminal investigation; forensic sciences and investigation; history of crime; substance abuse and addiction; probation and parole. Over 270 titles are now presented with cover-to-cover coverage.
Index of the Des Moines Register created by the University of Northern Iowa.
16,000+ biographical and critical essays on the lives, works and careers of the world’s most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. Includes Dictionary of Literary Biography (more than 345 volumes), Dictionary of Literary Biography Documentary Series (more than 50 volumes), and Dictionary of Literary Biography Yearbook (23 vols.).
This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.
Contains citations and abstracts of dissertations and theses submitted by the University of Northern Iowa and published in UMI's Dissertation abstracts database; UNI users may download the full text of the dissertations from 1996 forward.
With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses.
Over 20,000 full-text books in multiple academic and general interest subject areas, sheet music titles and reports.
The American Economic Association's electronic database, this is the world's foremost source of references to economic literature. EconLit adheres to the high quality standards long recognized by subscribers to the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) and is a reliable source of citations and abstracts to economic research dating back to 1969. It provides comprehensive information on accounting, capital markets, econometrics, economic forecasting, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics and much more. EconLit records include abstracts of books, journal articles, and working papers published by the Cambridge University Press. These sources bring the total records available on the database to more than 825,000. Premier Package customers will have instant access to full text for nearly 250 journals indexed in EconLit (at no additional charge). Users of EconLit will be excited to learn that this is now a "full text database
This full-text source of education scholarship provides coverage for a wide range of topics, including adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, secondary education, teaching methods and much more. In addition, Education Full Text provides in-depth coverage of special education, with over 50 journals dedicated to this important topic.
Education Index Retrospective provides a vast record of important education literature in a format easily searchable for your patrons, with indexing of more than 800 periodicals and yearbooks. Find information on societal trends affecting education, for example segregation, multiculturalism, feminism, economic developments, and more.
Includes bibliographic records covering areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains 60,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.
A cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
Gain immediate access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index with ERIC.
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is a digital library of education-related resources.
Ethnic NewsWatch features newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. With titles dating from 1990, Ethnic NewsWatch presents a comprehensive, full-text collection of more than 1.8 million articles from more than 315 publications offering both national and regional coverage.
Provides coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of family science, human ecology, human development, and social welfare. FSSW covers popular issues and meets the requirements of professionals in all fields of social work, social science and family practice. Coverage spans from 1970 to the present, indexing publications from a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history and social work. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, statistical documents, theses & dissertations and other sources.
GPO's Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides public access to Government information submitted by Congress and Federal agencies and preserved as technology changes. This advanced digital system will enable GPO to manage Government information from all three branches of the U.S. Government.
Federal Reserve System economic research.
Timely, comprehensive information on grantmakers and their grants. Included is a database of the entire universe of nearly 100,000 foundations, corporate giving programs, and grantmaking public charities in the U.S.; a database of nearly 4,000 sponsoring companies, offering a quick pathway to corporate funders; a database of over 2.1 million recently awarded grants; and a keyword-searchable database of over 650,000 recently filed IRS Forms 990 and 990-PF.
Gale Virtual Reference Library's powerful delivery platform puts your reference content into circulation. Researchers will have the power to Search and share results, Create mark lists, Track research through search history, Share articles using InfoTrac InfoMarks® and more.
Gender Studies Database combines NISC's Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. Gender Studies Database covers gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Several thousand links to freely available and indexed full-text articles and documents on the Web are available. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources.
Search the full text of books to find ones that interest you and learn where to borrow or buy them.
Google Scholar searches academic publishers, professional societies and pre-print archives.
Contains about 2,000 funding opportunities that support academic activities such as research, education, training, fellowships, program or curriculum development, and/or equipment acquisition.
GreenFILE offers information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects. Multidisciplinary by nature, GreenFILE draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 612,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 9,100 records.
The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources.
As a digital repository for the nation’s great research libraries, HathiTrust brings together the immense collections of partner institutions. HathiTrust was conceived as a collaboration of the thirteen universities of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation and the University of California system to establish a repository for these universities to archive and share their digitized collections.
A consumer-health database.
This resource provides more than 580 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from Clinical Nursing Research, Creative Nursing, Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child + Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Family Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Journal of the Society of Pediatric Nurses, Nurse Practitioner, Nursing, Nursing Diagnosis, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry, Nursing Management, Patient Care for the Nurse Practitioner, Western Journal of Nursing Research, and many more.
HighWire's approach to online publishing of scholarly journals is not simply to mount electronic images of printed pages; rather, by adding links among authors, articles and citations, advanced searching capabilities, high-resolution images and multimedia, and interactivity, the electronic versions provide added dimensions to the information provided in the printed journals.
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. The database indexes more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
The Homeland Security Digital Library is composed of homeland security related documents collected from a wide variety of sources. These include federal, state, tribal, and local government agencies, professional organizations, think tanks, academic institutions, and international governing bodies. Resources are carefully selected and evaluated by a team of librarians and subject-matter specialists.
Find up to date proprietary editorial content covering public and non-public companies and key executives.
Provides industry and market research reports for numerous markets.
The IEEE Computer Society is the world's leading organization of computer professionals. Founded in 1946, it is the largest of IEEE societies. The IEEE Computer Society's vision is to be the leading provider of technical information, community services, and personalized services to the world's computing professionals.
The International Music Score Library Project, also known as the Petrucci Library, is a database of musical scores in the public domain. Users can search for or browse scores by title, composer, nationality, instrumentation, or time period.
In the First Person is a free index of close to 4,000 collections of personal narratives in English from around the world, including letters, diaries, memoirs, autobiographies, and oral histories.
Indexes publications by and about UNI.
Ingenta ConnectComplete is a comprehensive multi-disciplinary document delivery service providing access to thousands of online journals from leading scholarly, academic and business publishers.
Current and archival tax research material. New users must create personal accounts to access this database. See New User link on right side of log-on screen.
International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text (IIMPFT) is an outstanding resource for music periodicals available on the web. It enables you to find articles on a comprehensive variety of subjects about music from a wide range of scholarship.
The Internet Archive was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format.
Search electronic journal articles from the Institute of Physics.
Enables researchers in the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700) to access citations in journal, book, and reviews databases.
JSTOR (www.jstor.org) is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. For complete lists of titles and collections, please refer to http://about.jstor.org/content/content-jstor.
An elementary/middle school interface that searches across six databases (Middle Search Plus, Primary Search, Newspaper Source, TOPICsearch, Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, and EBSCO Animals. Also features a dictionary and image search.
A collection of test preparation tools, skill-building materials, and career resources available. Over 1,000 online practice tests and interactive skill-building tutorials are available, along with more than 200 eBook titles--all developed by academic and industry professionals.
Indexes articles in news, business, legal, medical, and reference information. Some full text articles available online.
Indexes articles and book reviews in more than 400 key library and information science periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included as far back as 1997. Books, chapters in collected works such as conference proceedings, library school theses, and pamphlets are also indexed.
The Library of Congress Online Catalog is a database of books, serials, computer files, manuscripts, cartographic materials, music, sound recordings, and visual materials in the Library's collections.
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts provides full text of journal articles and indexing of books, research reports and conference proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, search engines, printed and electronic information sources, the information industry, scholarly communication, and electronic publishing. LISTA with Full Text coverage extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
The 10 individual, series that comprise Literature Criticism Online represent a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres. It includes scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals,delivered in an easy format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals. Gale literary references reach back 20 to 30 years and taken together as print, they could easily fill 230 feet of shelf space. Literature Criticism Online brings together these series from Gale: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400–1800, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Drama Criticism, and Children's Literature Review.
Includes profiles on over 1.4 million of the most accomplished individuals from all fields of endeavor including: government, business, science and technology, the arts, entertainment, and sports.
Gain access to information on a broad range of topics including general interest, business, health and multi-cultural with MasterFILE Premier™. This vast database includes: Searchable full text for over 1,860 journals, including Consumer Reports and Business Week. Full text dating as far back as January 1990 abstracts and indexing for over 2,800 journals, many dating back to 1984. Charts, tables and graphs converted to ASCII text searchable full text for nearly 5,000 Magill’s Book Reviews. Essential Documents in American History—a database of over 1,000 original historical documents including The Bill of Rights, The Constitution, The Federalist Papers and the speeches of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. coverage of The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal.
MathSciNet is a comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature of the past 61 years. It provides Web access to reviews and bibliographic data from Mathematical Review and Current Mathematical Publications. It provides links to original articles and free access to Featured Reviews.
Medical research literature
Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,700 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. Tests in Print serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language.
Mergent Online contains information and data on several thousand U.S. and international public companies. Profiles cover topics such as company history, business segments, and debt and stock. More than 25 years of financial statements, ratios, and analysis are provided in spreadsheet format, depending on age of firm. Also provides searchable text of SEC EDGAR filings. Search forms can be used to compile comparison lists of companies in specific industries or which meet other criteria.
Federated search engine that searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while providing direct links to selected resources available online.
For libraries serving readers in grades five through nine, Middle and Junior High Core Collection, provides indispensable help with collection development and maintenance, curriculum support, readers' advisory, and general reference. You will find thousands of entries for nonfiction works, fiction, and collections for children and adolescents, plus review sources and other professional aids for librarians and school media specialists. Entries provide complete bibliographic data, price, subject headings, a descriptive annotation, and evaluative quotations from a review when available. The Catalog also includes entries for recommended electronic resources.
Mintel produces hundreds of reports into European, UK-specific and US consumer markets every year. Each report that Mintel publishes provides an overview of a market's dynamics and prospects.
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Morningstar Investment Research Center combines stock, fund, industry and ETF information necessary for in-depth research and smart portfolio construction. It includes screening and report building tools and extensive help and education materials.
Indexes articles in criminal justice, law enforcement, and corrections.
Naxos Music Library is the most comprehensive collection of classical music available online. It includes the complete Naxos, Marco Polo and Da Capo catalogues of over 75,000 tracks, including Classical music, Historical recordings, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. Users can read notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists in Naxos's extensive database.
Naxos Music Library Jazz boasts a large collection of streaming jazz music with over 7,000 albums, 32,000 artists, and 200 different labels represented in the database.
The National Bureau of Economic Research publishes working papers in all major fields of economics. About 700 are written each year, and many are later published in scholarly journals.
An international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper-based theses and dissertations.
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 1,000 full-text newspapers, providing more than 38 million full-text articles. The database contains comprehensive full text for major newspapers such as The New York Times (from January 1985 to present), Christian Science Monitor, San Francisco Chronicle, The Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), The Times (UK), Toronto Star, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times (DC) and others. All staff articles are also included from many newspapers, including The Philadelphia Inquirer, Houston Chronicle, Star Tribune (Minneapolis), etc. In addition, Newspaper Source Plus features nearly 913,000 television and radio news transcripts, including ABC News (American Broadcasting Company), ABC (Australian Broadcasting Corporation), CBC (Canadian Broadcasting Corporation), CBS News, CNBC, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, MSNBC, National Public Radio, PBS and more.
NewspaperARCHIVE.com, the largest historical newspaper database online, contains tens of millions of newspaper pages from 1607 to present. Every newspaper in the archive is fully searchable by keyword and date, making it easy for you to quickly explore historical content.
Reflecting the changing landscape of library resources, Nonbook Materials Core Collection covers a range of audiobooks, book reviews, games, periodicals, sound recordings, video recordings, websites and other electronic resources for guidance in building and maintaining your library’s collection in these areas. By streamlining the fragmented world of non-book materials and making recommended titles easy to find, this essential resource ensures that patrons have the best possible research and entertainment tools available to them.
SourceOECD is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. SourceOECD comprises 20 Book collections by theme, containing all our monographs and reports; 24 periodicals; a reference title; and the OECD statistical databases.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the Greenhaven Press series, the new solution features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center: Critical Thinking is a one-stop source for information on today's hottest social issues, supplemented with assessments and tools that encourage students to interact with, debate and analyze issues and concepts. Drawing on acclaimed series published by Greenhaven Press and other Gale imprints, OVRC: Critical Thinking features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites.
Oxford Art Online offers users the ability to access and search the content of Grove Art Online and Oxford art reference in one location. Oxford Art Online's search and browse capabilities allow users to refine their results by source and subject categories. Users can also choose to view biographies, subject entries, or images when searching or browsing. This functionality allows users greater access to the more than 23,000 subject entries, 21,000 biographies, 500,000 bibliographic citations, 40,000 image links and 5,000 images contained within Grove Art Online. Thematic timelines and learning resources also provide users with powerful tools for navigating the content, and context-sensitive help pages are available throughout the site to guide users through the features and functionality.
Traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources.
Search journals published by Oxford University Press.
Oxford Music Online offers users the ability to access and cross-search the resources of Oxford's music reference in one location. The cornerstone of Oxford Music Online, Grove Music Online, has been completely redesigned with a number of functional enhancements and new content. Oxford Music Online also features Colin Larkin's Encyclopedia of Popular Music — online for the first time. A comprehensive reference work devoted exclusively to popular music, the Encyclopedia is a biographical encyclopedia of rock, pop, and jazz artists, covering popular music from 1900 to the present. Search and browse capabilities allow users to refine their results by source, and specific era or subject category. Users can also choose to view biographies, subject entries, or images when searching or browsing. Advanced search capabilities, including biography and bibliography searching, provide users with tools for content navigation. Product-specific timelines and topical guides provide users with pathways into the content.
Philanthropic Studies Index indexes journal articles, dissertations, working papers, and other information sources on the topics of voluntarism, nonprofit organizations, fundraising, and charitable giving.
The Philosopher's Index is a bibliographic database with abstracts covering scholarly research in the fifteen fields of philosophy, published in journals and books since 1940. Records cite journal articles, books, contributions to anthologies, and book reviews. Nearly 570 journals are cited, from 43 countries, in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian, Dutch, Portuguese, Czech, Hungarian, Polish and many other languages. Topics covered include: aesthetics, axiology, philosophy of education, epistemology, ethics, philosophy of history, philosophy of language, logic, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, metaphilosophy, political philosophy, philosophy of science, social philosophy, and the philosophy of religion.
The PILOTS bibliographic database, covering the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress, is produced at the headquarters of the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in White River Junction, Vermont. The PILOTS database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage.
Library PressDisplay provides online access to over 2000 newspapers from more than 100 countries in 60 languages, displayed in their original format and accessible by country, language, or title. The PressReader App is available for reading papers on tablet devices "With PressDisplay, you can access not just today's issue of your favorite publication, but read all of the issues from the last 60 days (note that some publications are offered with the shorter back issue access as per publisher's request). Select the newspaper or magazine you would like to read, then in the top toolbar mouse over the date of the publication to open up the calendar function. A floating calendar will appear, showing the dates for which this title is available to you."
Primary Search contains full text for more than 50 popular, elementary school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for over 100 student pamphlets. Additionally, Primary Search includes the Encyclopedia of Animals, and features the Funk + Wagnall's New Encyclopedia, which provides students with easy-to-read encyclopedic entries written specifically for kids. This database also provides the American Heritage Children's Dictionary, 3rd Edition from Houghton Mifflin, and an Image Collection of 91,000 photos, maps and flags.
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers. MUSE began in 1993 as a pioneering joint project of the Johns Hopkins University Press and the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at JHU. Grants from the Mellon Foundation and the National Endowment for the Humanities allowed MUSE to go live with JHU Press journals in 1995. Journals from other publishers were first incorporated in 2000, with additional university press and scholarly society publishers joining in each subsequent year.
Full-text database of journals published by APA and other publishers in subject areas such as applied psychology, health, theory, research, social/personality, and more.
Search for articles in the journals published by American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc.
This database contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology. It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals in over 35 languages.
Public Affairs Index is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of national and global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international commerce and conflict. This database draws from a diverse array of scholarly journals, conference papers, trade publications and government documents to provide up-to-date information on a broad range of topics of concern to the world today.
PubMed was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). It was developed in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at web sites of participating publishers.
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada.
Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
The ReferenceUSA database contains, in module format, detailed information on more than 14 million U.S. businesses and 210 million U.S. residents
Regional Business News provides comprehensive full text for regional business publications (including titles from Crain Communications). This database has full text for more than 50 sources.
Current and archival tax research material and accounting standards and regulations.
RILM includes music related works from articles, books, bibliographies, dissertations, film & video to concert reviews and recording notes, provided the items are of scholarly interest. Subject areas include: historical musicology, ethnomusicology, instruments and voice, librarianship, performance practice and notation, theory and analysis, pedagogy, liturgy, dance, criticism, music therapy, and interdisciplinary studies on music and various other fields from an international coverage base.
Contains information for all of the two-dimensional and many of the three-dimensional pieces in the library. Some pieces belong to the library; the majority belong to the Permanent Art Collection or the Art Gallery.
Search RSC journals, including the flagship journal Chemical Communications.
Search SAGE journal articles.
ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.
Scirus is the most comprehensive science-specific search engine available on the Internet. Driven by the latest search engine technology, it enables scientists, students and anyone searching for scientific information to chart and pinpoint data, locate university sites and find reports and articles quickly and easily. It was launched by Elsevier Science, the leading international publisher of scientific information.
Scitation is the relaunch of the Online Journal Publishing Service (OJPS), a leader in online sci tech publishing and journal hosting since 1996. The name "Scitation" was chosen because it more accurately describes the platform's services to the scholarly community. Scitation includes links to many rich sources of information, including ISI's Web of Science, MEDLINE, Chemport/Chemical Abstracts Service, SPIN database, INSPEC, EDP Sciences, X ArkiV, SLAC SPIRES, and other Scitation journals, among others.
An animated interface with a dinosaur theme for three elementary and middle school databases (Middle Search Plus, Encyclopedia of Animals, and Primary Search), a general encyclopedia, a dictionary, and pictures.
This selective list of books recommended for young people in grades 9 through 12 is invaluable for collection development and maintenance, reader's advisory, and curriculum support in the high school library. More than 40,500 entries in the WilsonWeb online version and over 6,200 works in the print format for fiction and nonfiction works, as well as recommended CD-ROMs, offer an abundance of choices, including listings of review sources and other aids for librarians and school media specialists. Entries provide complete bibliographic data, price, subject headings, a descriptive annotation, and evaluative quotations from a review when available.
Small Business Reference Center offers a wide variety of information on small business and entrepreneurial subject areas, common business types, a help and advice section, and provides information on how to create business plans that lead to successful funding. Business videos provide critical information for business owners: interviews, "lessons learned" features, lectures and "how to" videos help foster success in all aspects of managing a business. A collection of state-specific resources supports the researcher with demographic data and other local information.
This database provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300+ serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations and citations to book reviews.
Social Work Abstracts offers coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), the database provides indexing and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems. Includes scholarly and professional perspectives on subjects such as therapy, education, human services, addictions, child and family welfare, mental health, civil and legal rights, and more.
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers. Cited references are included for many journal articles.
This database offers comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines. With full bibliographic coverage, monographs dating back to 1949, and journal coverage to 1975, this database contains over 565,000 records and over 200,000 dissertations and theses. The content also consists of multidisciplinary, international references from journal and magazine articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings and more. SPORTDiscus is provided by the Sport Information Resource Centre. Premier Package customers will have instant access to full text for nearly 300 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus (at no additional charge). Users of SPORTDiscus will be excited to learn that this is now a "full text database".
Provides students in secondary schools with appropriate research tools for obtaining the information that they seek, according to their needs and search abilities.
TeachingBooks.net is a portal to thousands of online resources you can use to explore children's and young adult books and their authors. It provides immediate access to useful materials and exciting programs (short movies, audio book readings, book discussion guides, and more) that add a multimedia dimension to reading in the classroom, library, and home.
Provides directories of companies by product or service and location.
This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today’s classrooms including controversial opinions and viewpoints.
Ulrich's is a source of bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types: academic and scholarly journals, Open Access publications, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters and more from around the world.
Designed for vocational and technical libraries servicing high schools, community colleges, trade institutions and the general public. This collection provides full text coverage for 400 trade and industry-related periodicals.
Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
Wiley InterScience provides access to over 4 million articles from more than 2,500 journals, books, reference works, databases, and laboratory manuals, and across the spectrum of scientific, technical, medical and professional endeavors.
WorldCat is the largest library network in the world. WorldCat libraries are dedicated to providing access to their free resources on the Web, where most people start their search for information. WorldCat's coverage is both deep and wide. You can search for popular books, music CDs and videos—all of the physical items you're used to getting from libraries. You can also link to many new kinds of digital content, such as downloadable audiobooks you can listen to on many portable MP3 players. You may additionally find authoritative research materials, such as documents and photos of local or historic significance; abstracts and full-text articles; and digital versions of rare items that aren't available to the public.
Animal biology and biodiversity research literature.